SFandFantasy.co.uk
   An SF and Fantasy Bibliography

Crypt of Cthulhu #36. 1985
Search the Site
 Advanced Search

Follow Us / Contact Us

Links to Bibliographies

Alan Dean Foster

Eddie Jones

The Big Three
--- Isaac Asimov
--- Arthur C. Clarke
--- Robert A. Heinlein

J.R.R. Tolkien

Lin Carter
--- Introduction
--- Fantasy
--- The Chronicles of Kylix
--- Conan of Cimmeria
--- The Gondwane Epic
--- Tara of the Twilight
--- Terra Magica
--- Thongor of Valkarth
--- Science Fiction
--- Eric Carstairs of Zanthodon
--- The Green Star Saga
--- Hautley Quicksilver
--- History of the Great Imperium
--- Jandar of Callisto
--- The Mysteries of Mars
--- Zarkon, Lord of the Unknown
--- Other Works
--- Other Novels and Collections
--- Charnel House Chapbooks
--- Short Fiction
--- Ballantine Adult Fantasy
--- Flashing Swords!
--- The Year's Best Fantasy Stories
--- Weird Tales
--- Other Anthologies
--- Miscellanea

Patrick Moore

Philip E. High

Richard C. Meredith

Robert E. Vardeman

Fighting Fantasy

Science Fiction Magazines

Science Fiction and Fantasy Series

SF Universes and Fantasy Worlds

Back to previous page Record Number: 29355
   
Crypt of Cthulhu #36. 1985 Crypt of Cthulhu
Lin Carter Special Issue

edited by Robert M. Price
Vol.5, No.2, Issue #36, Yuletide 1985
Cryptic Publications
Mount Olive
ISBN: None
Fanzine/Magazine
Cover illustration by Robert M. Price
48 pages - Covers not included in pagination
Price: $2.00

Notes
An issue of Crypt of Cthulhu dedicated to short fiction by Lin Carter.

Includes:

  • The Doom of Yakthoob - first published in The Arkham Collector (Summer 1971)
  • The City of Pillars - first published in Kadath (#1 1974)
  • The Acolyte of the Flame
  • The Stone from Mnar
  • H.P. Lovecraft: The History (article) - first appeared in Fantasy Advertiser (March 1950)
  • Under the Eaves - first published in The Arkham Collector (Summer 1969)
  • High Atlantis (poem)
Also includes:
  • The Carter-Smith "Collaborations" - article by Steve Behrends
  • A Response - a reply by Lin Carter
  • An Interview with Lin Carter - interview of LC by Robert M. Price
Editorial – Page 2
Debatable and Disturbing: Editorial Shards

It may not be exaggeration to say that a magazine devoted to any of the sub-genres of fantastic fiction would sooner or later have to devote an issue to Lin Carter. His prolificity and versatility must equal that of several other writers put together. Even in our little corner, that of the Weird Tales tradition, Lin has experimented with various sub-sub-genres. He has written poetry, fantastic fables and episodes in the tradition of Dunsany and Smith, Lovecraftian/Derlethian horror in a modern setting, and various essays and even a whole book of research, Lovecraft: A Look Behind the Cthulhu Mythos.

In this special Lin Carter issue of Crypt of Cthulhu, we bring together samples of Lin's many-faceted work in weird fiction, many of them notoriously elusive collector's items. Readers of Lin's book on Lovecraft noticed in the chapter "The Last Disciple", that he had written a few stories purporting to be excerpts from the Mythos grimoires. Two were from the Necronomicon. One of these, "The Doom of Yakthoob", appeared only in The Arkham Collector, number 10. The other, "The City of Pillars", is even more rare, having appeared in Lin's own magazine Kadath, only thirty copies of which ever circulated. A third was an episode from the Pnakotic Manuscripts, "The Acolyte of the Flame". It has never been published. Until now, that is. We offer all three here.

Many Carter- and Mythos-collectors have been frustrated trying to hunt down a copy of an item once listed among his published works, "The Stone from Mnar", another Necronomicon fragment. No wonder they couldn't find it; it was listed by mistake, and though scheduled to appear as a pamphlet from Mirage Press, it was recalled at the last moment because Lin wanted to expand it. Relax, fellow-collectors; here it is.

Another hard-to-find item included in this issue is the third of Lin's Cthulhu Mythos articles from Inside and Science Fantasy Advertiser, two of which, "H.P. Lovecraft: The Books" and "H.P. Lovecraft: The Gods", were reprinted in the Arkham House volume The Shuttered Room. The third, "H.P. Lovecraft: The History", was not. This was probably because it was less complete than the others, taking into account only some of the relevant fiction. A fuller account of Lovecraft's cosmic history appears in the next issue of Crypt of Cthulhu, and Lin insists that we remind readers that his early essay is just that: a piece of Carter juvenilia presented here just for completeness' sake. Now you have all three. (That's assuming you have The Shuttered Room, of course!)

You'll also find in this issue "Under the Eaves", another supernatural tale from The Arkham Collector, number 5, and a poem, "High Atlantis". And as is customary for our author profile issues, we present a critical article, "The Carter-Smith 'Collaborations'" by Steve Behrends, with a response by Lin Carter, and an interview with Lin on subjects ranging from Lovecraft to Callisto. As Lin himself would say, Happy Magic!

Robert M. Price, Editor

 
If you are looking for new, secondhand or out-of-print books then AbeBooks UK may be able to help.
 
Alternatively, you can search and order through AbeBooks.com.
AbeBooks.com. Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.
Text © Neil Holford and SFandFantasy.co.uk 2011-2020 --- Images and quoted text remain copyright of the publishers, artists and authors