An SF and Fantasy Bibliography

Dying Inside. 1972
Search the Site
 Advanced Search

Follow Us / Contact Us

Links to Bibliographies

Alan Dean Foster

Eddie Jones

The Big Three
--- Isaac Asimov
--- Arthur C. Clarke
--- Robert A. Heinlein

J.R.R. Tolkien

Lin Carter

Patrick Moore

Philip E. High

Richard C. Meredith

Robert Silverberg
--- Introduction
--- Majipoor
--- The Collected Stories
--- Novels and Chapbooks
--- 1955-1976
--- 1983 onwards
--- Other Works
--- Collections
--- Omnibuses
--- Detective / Crime Fiction
--- Spicy Fiction
--- Non-Fiction
--- Short Fiction

Robert E. Vardeman

Fighting Fantasy

Science Fiction Magazines

Science Fiction and Fantasy Series

SF Universes and Fantasy Worlds

Back to previous page Record Number: 150810
Dying Inside. 1972 Dying Inside
by Robert Silverberg
First Edition 1972
Charles Scribner's Sons
New York
SBN 684130831
Hardback in dust jacket
Cover illustration by Jerry Thorp
viii+248 pages
Price: $6.95

Dying Inside, a standalone novel by Robert Silverberg.

Previously published as a two part serial in Galaxy (July-August and September-October 1972).

Publisher's Blurb – Lower Cover
Outwardly, David Selig is unimpressive. His promise as a student and scholar has been unrealized as he enters middle age. He is a person alone and barely making it. But he is also a person with the power of a god, for he can project his consciousness into other minds, other bodies, other souls. He can read thoughts and feelings. His essence, as he sees it, is in this unique and formidable power -- and his power is dying.

In this compelling novel we experience with David what it is like to be dying inside -- dying with regret for his lost past and with fear of the future. We live with him his struggle to find his humanity in the face of losing the one weapon that had offered protection from the predatory world around him.

This is a fascinating portrait, readily identifiable, yet strange. Never has the experience of telepathy been conveyed so vividly, so excitingly, so chillingly. And never has Robert Silverberg created so moving a story, as he depicts the flux of dying and thrust toward rebirth.

Robert Silverberg is the author of many novels, including
Tower of Glass, The Masks of Time, Son of Man, A Time of Changes, and others, as well as numerous short stories. He has won two Hugo Awards and two Nebulas for novel and short story. He is a Past-President of the Science Fiction Writers of America.

Mr. Silverberg has also written several non-fiction books on historical and archaeological subjects, including The Pueblo Revolt, Mound Builders of Ancient America, The Challenge of Climate, Lost Cities and Vanished Civilizations, and most recently, The Realm of Prester John.

Born and educated in New York City, the author now lives in California with his wife, Barbara.

If you are looking for new, secondhand or out-of-print books then AbeBooks UK may be able to help.
Alternatively, you can search and order through AbeBooks.com.
AbeBooks.com. Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.
Text © Neil Holford and SFandFantasy.co.uk 2011-2022 --- Images and quoted text remain copyright of the publishers, artists and authors